Front page


The following awards will be given during the meeting.

  • Young Career Award [by nomination]
  • Nominations are invited for the Young Career Award, which will be awarded to a solar physicist with age not more than 50 years as on December 31, 2019, who has made significant contributions to solar physics research working within the Asia-Pacific region (*) during the last ten years. Apart from academic achievements, organisational or developmental work (setting up facilities, training students) will also be considered.

    There will be no cash award, but the recipient will be invited to deliver a special lecture at APSPM with all expenses (travel, local hospitality) covered by the host country.

    *The Asia-Pacific region is defined to consist of Asia and Oceania. The Young Career Award was established in 2017, and the first laureate was Prof. Peng-Fei Chen from China-Nanjing.

    Nominations with the following materials can be sent to Prof P. F. Chen ( by October 20th, 2019.

    1. A recommendation letter;
    2. The CV of the candidate (a google scholar homepage or ADS library will be helpful;
    3. Publication list.

    Nominations can be made from SOC members as well as other senior solar phycists.

  • Young Scientist Best Paper Awards [three awards]
  • These awards are given to young scientists (PhD Students and Post Doctoral Fellows) based on their presentations made during the meeting either as a contributed oral presentation or poster presentation.

    Award 1: Subscription to the journal Research in Astronomy and Astrophysics
    Award 2: Subscription to the journal Solar Physics
    Award 3: Prize by the hosts